Loading the player...
45.44 K views

Motorsport: Peterhansel wins 14th Dakar Rally and Benavides makes history

X-raid Mini driver Stephane Peterhansel has secured a record-extending 14th Dakar Rally title in Saudi Arabia on Friday, while Kevin Benavides became the first Argentinian rider to win in the motorcycle class of the Dakar. Peterhansel grabbed the lead after the second of the 12 stages and never surrendered it thereafter, eventually claiming victory by 14m51s from the factory Toyota of Nasser Al-Attiyah. Carlos Sainz of X-raid Mini won the final stage and came third overall. In the motorcycle class Ricky Brabec surpassed Sam Sunderland for second overall to make it a Honda one-two - the first for the Japanese manufacturer since 1987 - 4m56s behind Benavides. Sunderland had to settle for the bottom step of the podium after finishing only 12th on the final stage, 15m57s behind Benavides.


  • Released : 17-Jan-2021


  • Motor Sport, Right - Now