Loading the player...
37.95 K views

Tokyo Paralympic News : Devendra Jhajharia, Venkatesh Prasad & Sarita Devi in selection committee of Sports Awards

Three-time Paralympic medallist javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, former Indian pacer Venkatesh Prasad and former world champion boxer Laishram Sarita Devi are named in the selection committee for this year's National Sports Awards. Retired Supreme Court judge Justice Mukundakum Sharma is also picked as the chairman of the committee, which also includes Olympian shooter Anjali Bhagwat and former women's cricket captain Anjum Chopra. Jhajharia bagged a silver medal at the Tokyo Paralympics, adding to the two gold medals he had won in the 2004 Athens Paralympics and 2016 Rio Paralympics. The selection committee also includes hockey coach Baldev Singh, Sports Authority of India Director General Sandip Pradhan and senior journalists Vijay Lokapally and Vikrant Gupta. The committee will be meeting in the next few days to decide the winners. This year's awards were delayed after the government decided to wait for India's performance at both the Olympic and Paralympic Games. India notched up historic results in both the events with 7 medals in the Olympics and 19 medals in Paralympics including five gold medals.


  • Released : 09-Sep-2021


  • Olympics 2021